Posted by: Susan Loken | March 6, 2015

If Grandma Can Do Anything, I Can Too!

12512683_10207933596212182_5358876749382271804_n

Proud Grandma!!

My distance running team, Sonoran Distance Project, was recently sponsored by P&G’s Always brand. You may have seen their awesome and note-worthy “Like A Girl” commercial during the Super Bowl.

I am so inspired by the young girls’ self-belief in this ad. They truly believe that they can accomplish anything; they know that they are just as strong and capable as any boy.

This ad hit home for me. Immediately after watching it, I realized that I will NOT let injury or any other challenge STOP me from continuing to chase my dreams! I won’t let stereotypes or societal expectations prevent me from doing what makes me come alive.

My passion for running stems from several places and serves many purpose, but none are as strong as my desire to leave a legacy behind for my two young Granddaughters. I want these two beautiful young girls to grow up knowing that they can do absolutely anything they put their mind to and anything their heart desires. I want to teach them, by example, that girls are strong, courageous, confident and capable!

I hope my Granddaughters grow to be: FAST LIKE A GIRL; STRONG LIKE A GIRL; CONFIDENT LIKE A GIRL; COURAGEOUS LIKE A GIRL; JOYFUL LIKE A GIRL; and EXACTLY the kind of GIRL THEY want to be!

I want to tell them that they are going to experience seemingly impossible challenges, but not to forget that anything is possible. Girls, young and young-at-heart, you are going to be told that you can’t, but please know that YOU CAN. This may require sacrifices, but your dreams are always worth the effort. You may feel unsupported at times, but remember that you will always be your own biggest advocate and your number one fan. You may find that not everyone believes in you; in times like this, you must believe in yourself. You may encounter dead ends, but you can always find a way through if you persevere.

I share this for my Granddaughters, but it’s also a lesson that I continually need to learn for myself. This recent injury roller coaster gets me down at times, but I will continue forward with my dreams and my goals. I am confident, committed and, most of all, I BELIEVE IN ME! I want nothing more than to teach my lovely Granddaughters to be #LikeAGirl!! I want to teach them not to be ashamed of their anatomy and not to listen to stereotypes.

I hope my granddaughters see that their Grandma is PROUD to RUN LIKE A GIRL and realize that if Grandma can do anything, they can do anything too!!

Responses

  1. Susan your words have inspired me. I’m a 41 year old girl from the UK who reignited her passion for running a year ago. I’ve been battling with thoughts like ‘Why are you doing this, you’re too old etc’. As you so eloquently express this is about inspiring those around us so they believe in themselves and reject societal limitations. Pushing boundaries is never easy – keep going. You never know how you have touched the lives of others. Thank you.

  2. Thank you for the thoughtful response delmarieuk It makes my day to know this blog has helped you in any way. KEEP BELIEVING!!!!!

  3. Hello I just started my running journey at the age of 24 I thought i’m too late but when I read your blog it inspires me a lot :)) thank you! I don’t know if I can someone great like what you achieved but I believe in myself that i can be great too in my own way! :)) Keep it up! keep inspiring!!

    Godbless ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

