Posted by: Susan Loken | August 20, 2011

Coaching to keep me motivated and inspired

In June I started coaching Team Chances New York City! We have 20 members training for the NYC Marathon and they are all doing fantastic! It is such a thrill to be a part of this journey with them. The excitement and motivation they share is so contagious. And, I must say, as their coach it really makes me feel good to watch their fitness improve so much each week.

One member couldn’t run 20 minutes without stopping when he started and he just completed 14 miles last week!! He used to wear a shirt that says “running sucks” and now he is actually talking about what marathon he will do next! Converted another one to running… Yup, I love it! I love it! I love it!

In July, our women’s team (Team Sole Sisters) started training for the Nov. 6 Women’s Half Marathon.  We have 60 women all working together for one common goal! My personal goal for these amazing ladies is to make fitness and running a part of their life forever. I have 17 weeks to get them hooked!

It is just so fulfilling for me to witness the transformation of fitness and confidence, the blossoming of friendships and watching the extra pep these women have in their step each week. I get to share my passion every single day with others! I’d like to say I planned my life to end up this way, but I didn’t. One thing lead to another, and it just happened.

My high school friends laugh and still shake their heads that I’m a runner, they all skipped gym class with me.

I love that God’s life plan for me overwrote my life plan for me. I like this life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

