Posted by: Susan Loken | May 3, 2011

Gaining consistency

April 25-May 1

Monday … 8 miles easy on South Mountain trails, one hour Bar Fitness hybrid class and one hour Stretch Therapy class

Tuesday … 8 miles easy at an 8 minute average pace

Wednesday … 10 miles total: 3 mile warm-up, 5:48, 6:40, 5:49, 6:47, 5:50 (up & down Desert Foothills Pkwy), 2 miles easy finish

Thursday … 8 miles easy with 8 strides

Friday … 12 miles total with 10 x 1 minute hard/easy and one hour Bar Fitness hybrid class

Saturday … 8 mile trail run

Sunday … 16 miles: 7:23, 7:19, 6:57, 6:58, 6:54, 6:53, 6:53, 7:05, 7:08, 7:15, 7:19, 6:13, 6:15, 6:14, 6:55, 6:55, 7:06

Week Summary: My miles have been consistently around 70 per week and I feel like I’m balancing this well with the rest of my life. I usually don’t go above 70-75 miles per week. However, as I said in my last blog entry, you need to do things that you don’t normally do to get different results. So I may try bumping up my mileage along with entering more 5K and 10K’s. On my Sunday long run I was supposed to run 5 miles at a 6:15 pace and only ran 3 miles at a 6:15 pace. I was working pretty hard running along with my coach John Reich and he suggested that I cut it back to 3 miles and save my effort for the Santa Barbara Half Marathon this Saturday! Folks, this is good to remember about your training schedules. Sometimes you need to make slight adjustments based on how you are feeling that day or what you have coming up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

