Posted by: Susan Loken | April 24, 2011

March 12 – Bandidos 15k

My good friend Stephanie, her girls, Sally’s sister Sam and me after the race. Sally #1!

Congrats to the Bandido’s for putting on a first class race! I can see this race growing and attracting some of the fastest running talent in the USA. Check it out and sign up next year!

This race was about Sally! I enjoyed celebrating Sally – I wore Sally’s favorite pink compression socks, a skirt and long top.

I ran a 59:36 (6:23 pace).  Yes, there were a couple hills, but really my main goal for this race was to honor Sally, not race fast. In perspective: I’ve ran at least 10 marathons in sub 2:45:00 (6:15 pace).

To feel fast, I usually wear short socks, itsy bitsy shorts and a jog bra. The new outfit didn’t work for me. Also, my heart was heavy. Nothing felt good. I did try running fast, but bottom line is that I wasn’t in shape. I needed to buckle down and train hard with consistency.

Lesson: We all need a consistent training cycle that includes speed, tempo, hills and endurance to run our best. Consistency is “key!” If you mix in a few inconsistent weeks of training, don’t plan on running your best times. Also, wear what you feel fast in and never anything new on race day.

Responses

  1. You post very interesting articles here. Your website deserves much bigger audience.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful service that can help you,
    simply type in google: svetsern traffic tips


Leave a Reply

Categories

