Posted by: Susan Loken | February 15, 2011

Overcome Disappointment

 It is very difficult, for me and for every runner, to overcome “failed” workouts. We must accept that we will have good and bad workouts. I’ve never met a runner that has only experienced good workouts. (Ha!)

So here’s what to do after a hard workout:

1. Let yourself be disappointed for 30 minutes, or less. Period.

2. After 30 minutes, let go of the disappointment and begin to think about the lessons you can learn from this workout to improve next time.

3. Bad workouts happen for a number of reasons. Sometimes, it’s as simple as eating the wrong food, having a nagging injury or not getting enough recovery between hard efforts. Sometimes, it’s lack of speed training and too high of expectations (as in my case). Sometimes, it’s simply an off day. Whatever the reason is, accept it, learn from it and get over it.

4. Write down things you can do to improve. Know that tomorrow is a new day!

Honestly, the hard work it takes to run and train for a marathon are the reasons I love the sport. You must put in the work. There are no short cuts. There are no magic lotions or potions. It takes lots of smart and serious training. That is why meeting your goal during a marathon is so self rewarding. There is no feeling like it.

It doesn’t matter how much “natural” talent you have. To do your best in the marathon, you must put in the work. Period. We runners respect one another because of this. Each of us must train hard to achieve our best. 

Me, I love it. 

YOU BETTER BELIEVE THAT I AM READY TO TRAIN HARD, FOCUS and DO WHAT IT TAKES to ACHIEVE MY GOALS!

Responses

  1. Hi Susan,
    What type of training did you do during your injury recovery? Do you have it posted? You seem to have been able to maintain a great base level to go back into regular training.
    Thanks,
    Amy

    • Hi Amy,

      During my injury I did strength training 2 x per week. Normally I would x-train for the amount of time I would be running. However, this time with work demands and holidays it didn’t work out to x-train.

      Smiles,

      Susan Loken

  2. Great job in Austin. I ran an okay race (1:29). The hills were tough; I live in Houston and do not train on hills. I need to.

  3. Hi Susan,

    I’m so happy to have found your inspiring blog. Your progress and times are amazing! I was wondering if you had much of an athletic background prior to lacing up and starting to run while in your 40’s. Were you athletic as a girl?

    Thank you for sharing your story and insights.

    Lynn

    • Hi Lynn,

      So happy you find this bloog inspiring! 🙂 No, I did not have any athletic background when I first laced up my running shoes at age 35. I was the girl that skipped gym class because she didn’t want to sweat or mess up her hair! LOL! My friends from High School do not believe that I’m a runner. HA! It’s nice to know that we can be anything we want at any age. 🙂

      Keep Running,

      Susan

      • Hi Susan,

        What an amazing story of finding your inner athlete. I ran 3:10 at age 50 and now at age 55, I was feeling that I had maxed out but reading about your accomplishments makes me feel like I can do more. I recently ran 3:42 after a three year break and was feeling like to get even close to where I was would be more work than I am ready for but I’m now setting my goal to run under 3:25 for the fall.

        I have coached kids teams and part of a new job is to organize a team of runners trying to raise money for a refugee home so I’m inspired by your coaching and fundraising activities as well.

        Best wishes!

        Lynn

    • Hi Lynn,

      WOW, your story is very inspiring!! 3:10 at 50?!!

      I thought I was maxed out after the Olympic Trials in 2008. Honestly, I didn’t think I would be running in the 2012 Olympic Trials at 48, but I am.

      Our age is just a number, we can still reach our dream goals!

      Please write me when you run sub 3:25 this fall. Maybe I will see you at the TCM!!

      Keep Believing!!!

      Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

