Posted by: Susan Loken | February 15, 2011

A hard workout

Today, I wanted to test my fitness and do the same track workout that I did the Tuesday before the AFC Half Marathon in the summer. My plan was to run 6 x 1200, running each split in less than 4:25 – I had nailed it last summer.

I ran 4:24, 4:24 and 4:26 my first three splits. I gave it my all for my fourth split, and it was 4:30. I was toast. Seriously?! What the heck. I was not happy with myself, and was not building confidence for this weekend. I didn’t want to give up, so I finished by running 400s. I did one in 1:27 and it took all I had. My legs felt SO heavy. I was done.

As I jogged a couple miles to cool down, Flash tried his best to put a positive spin on my workout. I listened, but I was letting myself be disappointed for a little while.

Leave a Reply

Categories

