Posted by: Susan Loken | February 7, 2011

Better Tomorrow than you are Today

That’s what I love about running!

Every day of training deposits strength into your fitness bank. Heck, even the challenging days are worth depositing – actually, the challenging days give you a bigger deposit – so appreciate them!

Today I ran 18 miles with Kerry Camberg on the San Juan Road at South Mountain.

 South Mountain Park is the world’s largest city park with about 58 miles of trails. If you are not from Phoenix and you come to visit, South Mountain is a must for one of your runs. It features some gorgeous scenery and horizon views. We are s0 lucky to have the park at our fingertips. I do a lot of my recovery runs on the trails at South Mountain and appreciate its unique beauty each run. The San Juan Road follows a valley between the two ranges at South Mountain. It is a challenging run with lots of rolling hills … actually, the rolling hills never stop!

Today’s long run went great. Thanks to my training partner, Kerry! My goal is to always run the second half of my long runs faster than the first and to keep my average pace below a seven-minute mile. I accomplished both today on a hilly course.

Today is not only a deposit into my fitness bank, but helped build my confidence too.

 My 18 mile Run at South Mountain:

Average pace 6:57

1:7:48
2:7:53
3:7:06
4:6:54
5:6:47
6:6:57
7:6:51
8:7:06
9:7:07
10:7:15
11:6:50
12:6:23
13:6:22
14:6:25
15:6:33
16:6:51
17:6:57
18:6:54

Leave a Reply

Categories

