Posted by: Susan Loken | February 2, 2011

Small Goals to the Trials

As I’ve written before, you need to have small goals and achievements during your journey to the big goal.

My goals leading up to the 2012  U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials:

February 20: Austin Half Marathon  I won’t be in my best shape for this race, but this race will tell me exactly where my fitness level is and I will improve from there.

March 5: Run for Ryan House Half Marathon  A training run.

March 12: Bandido’s 15K  I will race this to the best of my ability. Based on my result from this race, I should have a clear goal time for Boston.

April 18: Boston Marathon  Originally my goal was to PR here. At this point, I would like to run a 2:44:00 or better. By mid-March, I’ll have a better idea of where my fitness is at and exactly what my goal will be.

August 21: AFC Half Marathon  My goal is to defend Master Title and run a sub- 1:20:00.

September 4: Disneyland Half Marathon   Family vacation. My husband, sister, Dad, niece and son’s are running this race also. I placed third overall last year and ran a 1:19:44. My goal is to improve on that.

October 2: Twin Cities Marathon   Ok, no way can I top my race here last year! I won the USA Masters Title for the fourth time, qualified for the 2012 Olympic Trials and was proposed to! Are you kidding me? I won’t even try to top that dream day! Twin Cities holds a special place in my heart. I would like to run this race for the last and final time, win my fifth USA Masters Marathon Title … and hold all of the wonderful memories from this race with me forever.

October 29: Healdsburg Half Marathon   My goal depends on how I’m recovered from the TCM. Really, this is a great weekend getaway and we love this race.

December 4: Fiesta Bowl Half Marathon   Goal is 1:19:00. This will give me the confidence needed to break 2:42:00 at the 2012 Trials.

January 14, 2012: U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials!   Goal race! My goal is, at age 48 to be in the top 50 and improve my 2004 (2:44:23) and 2008 (2:42:55) Olympic Marathon Trials times!

90% of doing anything is Believing that you can! I BELIEVE!

Me at the starting line, 2009 MORE Marathon, NYC

Leave a Reply

Categories

