Posted by: Susan Loken | November 7, 2010

“Goals that are not written down are just wishes!”

On October 3, 2010 I ran a 2:44:41 marathon and qualified for the 2012 USA Olympic Marathon Trials! Lesson learned is, by writing down your goals, acting “as if,” and doing one thing each day to get you closer to your goal, you will succeed!

My blog post from May 13:

As I was running my 10 mile run today I was thinking about the importance of goal setting. For a goal to be a GOAL you must write it down and act as if you ARE going to achieve it. If you don’t, it is simply a wish or a hope.

Each day you need to do one thing that gets you closer to that goal. It also needs to be clear and defined.

Today after my run I went straight to my computer and typed in big bold letters…

I will run a 2:45:00 marathon in Twin Cities on October 3, 2010.

I also typed my favorite quote at the bottom of the page.

“90% of doing anything is believing that you can!”

 I placed a copy on my refrigerator and a copy on the mirror in my bathroom. Every day, I will do something that gets me one step closer to achieving my goal. I will act as if I am going to qualify for the trials. Now, the wheels are in motion for me to succeed. I feel alive. I feel motivated. I have a personal goal to achieve.

Leave a Reply

Categories

