Posted by: Susan Loken | September 23, 2010

Countdown: 10 days

10 days until the Twin Cities Marathon!

I’ve just spent 17 weeks training my butt off, and all that’s left to do for the next 10 days is to stay healthy, get plenty of rest, eat healthy (eat the proper amounts of carbs/calories) and arrive on the starting line with 110% confidence that I’ll will achieve my goal. Sound easy? Not so much.

I run around 70 miles per week and this week I’m only running 48 and next week only 26 miles. Yes, I still do speed work so I can stay sharp and feel like I’m doing something, but even speed work is cut in half. That leaves me with a lot of extra energy that I’m not used to having. I can’t use it up. It must be saved for the marathon.

My positive self talk goes like this. For the next 10 days, I will follow my reduced training plan, rest as much as I can, eat healthy, and not take any unnecessary injury or sickness risks. I will give myself the best possible chance of success and not waste even an ounce of energy worrying about things that are beyond my control. I ran two solid half marathon times and my training has gone well. I am prepared and ready for success.

This is a great time to let my body absorb the training, and prepare to give it all I got! Im so excited!

Leave a Reply

Categories

