Posted by: Susan Loken | September 7, 2010

A lesson

Lesson to be shared. It has taken me 17 weeks of hard training to get my fitness back. Folks, it doesn’t matter how fast you used to be, or how fast you want to be. You must put in the work, stick to your plan, accept good and bad days, and, most importantly, be patient.

Fitness is lost quickly, and gained back slowly. Period! I’m happy that I had the courage (I was a little nervous) to set the goal of regaining my fitness and qualifying for the Olympic Trials. My purpose is to inspire others to go for their Dreams and never let doubt, fear, age or being impatient get in your way. If you can dream it, you can do it.

No, I haven’t qualified for the Trials yet, but I believe I can and I have faith that anything is possible.

Responses

  1. Yes you can, yes you can, yes you can, can, can – I have faith in you!!! Not so much in myself… but in you FOR SURE!!! Good luck!!!

  2. Susan, this is Toya Reavis, Toni’s wife. Thanks so much for your blog – I needed to read this. For the last 3 years I have been struggling with adrenal/hormonal issues and have not been able to sleep. 6 weeks ago I started sleeping so now I can start the long journey back to getting fit and competing. I am 46 and still have the desire to compete at the Masters National championships for the 800 and 1500 in 2011. And of course you will qualify for the trials – you are so talented!! Keep up the great training!

    • Hi Toya,

      Nice to hear from you. 🙂 Yeah, that you are sleeping again. Holy smokes, that would be so hard!!

      YOU ARE TALENTED and I know you will get back in shape. Oh boy does it take time and patience, but it can be done. Having support is huge and I know Tony is a big support to you.

      Take care and hope to see you at a race,

      Susan

  3. Susan,

    Thanks for the encouragement. Toni can be a handful at times because he only deals with elite kenyans and Ethiopians and his comments can be a little harsh but true – I do not have a middle distance group to train with (only marathon groups in San Diego). Joaquim Cruz was my coach but he is busy at the Olympic Training Center and does not have the time. I am self motivated and have the workouts in my logs so hopefully I will be able to get it done!

    Good luck to you at Twin Cities!! I will be keeping track of your progress!

    Toya


Leave a Reply

Categories

