Posted by: Susan Loken | September 1, 2010

Running at the happiest place on earth

Disneyland, here I come!

I’m running a half marathon at the Happiest Place on Earth this Sunday! The Disneyland Half Marathon will be my second race during this training cycle. My goal is to beat my half time of 1:20:50 that I ran 3 weeks ago at the AFC half – read about that race by clicking here.

It’s always good to go into a goal race with a couple successful training races under your belt. It helps with confidence, and believing in yourself is crucial to your success!

 I’m so excited for this weekend because Disneyland is one of my favorite places in the world. I can not stop smiling when I’m there. And between you and me, I’ve always wanted a Mickey Mouse finisher’s medal! I plan to wear it around my neck the entire day! (I haven’t done that since receiving my first marathon medal -I think I wore that one for a week. Yes, even on the plane the next day!)

Responses

  1. Hello Susan, So happy to see how well your running is going! I have kept up on your progress since running the Twin Cities Marathon in 2007 as a master’s runner, and love to hear that you’re returning again this year! Since suffering the loss of my father last year, and devastating miscarriage I took some time off (a little too much time) and am finally getting back on track again. I have suffered with chronic anemia issues that finally now I have gotten under control, so now am feeling well for the first time in a long time, and then suddenly during a race three weeks ago I tore my plantar fascia. I’ve been doing running workouts in the pool, getting massage to the foot, but am concerned about taking too much time off; as I have gotten older, taking too much time off results in me basically starting all over from the time I first started running, literally. It takes a very long time for me to get fit again. I planned on running the Berlin Marathon on September 26, and have gotten mixed messages from doctors from taking six weeks off from the time of injury and doing nothing to you can start run/walking now. Have any suggestions?

    • Hi Monica, Thank you so much for the comment.

      So very sorry about your Father and miscarriage. That must have been the most challenging time in your life.

      My suggestion to you is to NEVER GIVE UP ON YOUR GOAL/DREAM, EVER!! Follow your Doctor’s instructions, make a plan, accept that it takes patience and time to get back in shape and go for it!!

      Please keep me up to date on your progress.

      Keep Believing!

      Susan Loken


Leave a Reply

Categories

