Posted by: Susan Loken | August 18, 2010

To Beth

As you may have read in my story about the AFC Half Marathon (read here), I ran the race for my friend Beth, who was in a hospice with cancer.

On Monday afternoon, I went to visit Beth. I gave her a big hug, held her for a few minutes and whispered in her ear that I dedicated my race yesterday to her, and that the Lord is her Strength. She whispered back, I love you. I placed my medal in her hand. She bent forward and asked if I would put it around her neck. As we said goodbye, she closed her eyes, grasped the medal with her hands, and smiled.

Beth passed away on Tuesday and is living with God.

The Lord is our Strength.

Leave a Reply

Categories

