Posted by: Susan Loken | July 13, 2010

Time & Training

This is my 10th week of strict, regimented training with a serious time goal in mind and I’m just now feeling like my old self again (not saying I’m old!). The days pass slowly as I realize I still have a long way to go before I’m back to the shape I need to be in.

This has been a great lesson for me.

You see, since I turned 40 (7 years ago), I have ran 14 marathons in 2:48 or better. A part of me just thought I could start training again (after not training hard for over a year) and pick up where I left off. Ha … that definitely is not the case. I’m not sure why I thought my fitness would just reappear when I wanted it to.

 

There are no short cuts to marathon training and getting back into shape. None. It takes patience, persistence and unwavering determination. Period.  But that is exactly why it is so self gratifying in the end! 

Let it be known…

There are no shortcuts to training.

No one can do it for you.

Most importantly, you can’t take a year off and be right where you left off.

These reasons are what make accomplishment so sweet and so life changing. If you can get through the training and complete a marathon in your best personal time, you can do anything. Period.

Leave a Reply

Categories

