Posted by: Susan Loken | July 3, 2010

Purposeful training

My last entry (click here) talked about how every run has a purpose. Let’s take a look at my week of training and see what kind of runs I got in this week.

Sunday – Long run. 18 miles total with 6 x 1 miles at marathon pace. I ran 18 miles at an average pace of 6:55 with 6 x 1 miles at a 6:15 pace. I felt great and the 6:15 pace felt manageable. Total confidence booster.

 Monday – Easy trail run. Stretched and loosened my legs from Sundays long run effort.

 Tuesday – Speed workout. 3 mile warm-up, 10 x 800 in 2:50 each and a 3 mile cool-down. Here’s the low down on my splits 2:44, 2:49, 2:50, 2:51, 2:52, 2:53, 2:53, 2:54, 2:55, 2:55. I was disappointed after this workout. It took all I had to keep those last two 800’s under 2:55. Hard workout for me today! Remember, sometimes a bad workout fuels your fire. I will nail this workout next time! Made me think I need to start concentrating more on nutrition.

Wednesday – Fun run. I met up with my “best girlfriends” to run and the purpose was to visit with them, not to run fast. Have I mentioned yet how blessed I am with the best friends in the world! After our girlfriend run today I felt so happy and blessed!

Thursday – Steady run. 15 miles, with the last two miles under 6:30. Flash and I ran a very hilly course and it was 90 degrees at the start. Actually, it was a good run. My average pace was 7:20ish with the last two miles 6:29 and 6:14.

My endurance is returning.

Friday – Easy trail run. Ran w/ Flash with no speed, no time goal, but lots more Flash Wisdom! Check out what I learned (click here!).

Varying my workouts and mixing easy with hard will help me improve and stay focused. Just wanted to get across that each day has a purpose. Hard days, I’m focused on the task at hand and that is all that matters. Easy days, I enjoy friendship and trail runs so I’m fresh for the hard days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

