Posted by: Susan Loken | June 6, 2010

The Heat is On

Wow! It’s hot out there. Today was the first day that I really felt the heat during my run. I ran with my friend Derek at 5:30 am. When we started, the temperature was in the mid 80’s… it was 90 by the end of our run.

18 miles. The first 9 were at a comfortable 7:20 pace. We filled up our water bottles at a gas station and turned around to run back. The first mile back was at 7:15 pace. I decided that was the fastest pace I could run the 9 return miles today (typically, I like to be just under 7 min miles for long run “return” miles).  The sun beating down on me made 7:15 pace feel like 6:30. I finished the final 8 miles on my own (Derek decided to slow a bit), staying right around 7 to 7:15 pace. It was a tad warm, but I felt pretty good.

Going forward, we won’t begin our long runs past 5 a.m. It’s hard to get up that early, but it is worth it to avoid the scorching heat. An afternoon nap is always an option!

Leave a Reply

Categories

