Posted by: Susan Loken | June 1, 2010

Keeping the Pace

My plan was to do my long run on Monday morning, but after 2 miles I knew it was not a day to “suck it up” and that I was better to call the weekend a wash. I would follow my schedule that read 6 miles easy. So, I ran 6 miles of trails. It was great!

This morning, though … UGH!!

I met Ron Hyde on the canal in Phoenix at 6 a.m. to run our prescribed 2.5 mile warm-up, 2 ml at 12:20, 1 mile at 5:55 and 2 ml at 12:20.

I ran the first 2 miles in 12:15. It was a lot of effort.

I ran the mile at 6:10.

For the final two miles it was suck it up and finish Loken!

I pulled out all of my tricks that I use to finish hard speed workouts and could only run 12:50 for the final 2 miles. (Click here to read my tricks)

Anyway, even with my “tricks” I couldn’t nail the pace today. From today’s “not so great” workout,” I remind myself that you really are what you think. (Read more about this here). So, do you know what I think?

I am a 3rd time Olympic Marathon Qualifier and I will act like it. I will better fuel my body with healthy food and good sleep, and acceptance when workouts do not go as planned.

My body was fighting off something all weekend, so hopefully by later this week I’ll be back to feeling great.

Leave a Reply

Categories

