Posted by: Susan Loken | May 8, 2010

Why I’m writing

I want to inspire. I was put here for a reason, and I believe it is to make a difference in the lives of those around me. I want to inspire women to live healthy, and to live confidently as who they are. That’s my hope… that by reading this, women (and men) across the world will be inspired. I made a big decision recently. At 48 years old, I’m going to run in the 2012 U.S. Women Olympic Marathon trials. It may seem like an unreachable goal (if you don’t know me), but those that know me know that when I decide on something – when I make up my mind – nothing can stop me. A little background… the last time I competed in a Marathon was two years ago in the 2008 Women’s Olympic Marathon Trials, where at 44 years old I ran a 2:42:55 and placed 40th overall. After the 2008 Olympic Trials I trained for the 2008 Twin Cities Marathon to try and win my 4th USA Masters Championship, but ended up dropping out (first time ever!) because of extreme cold weather that my body was not tolerating.  Then, I trained for the 2009 More Marathon which was then cancelled (the night before!) due to extreme hot weather. After that, I decided it was a sign to “retire” from competitive running. Well, honestly, I didn’t decide to “retire” only because the last two marathons didn’t work out, but because I was also struggling with injury and low motivation. I was more motivated to help others, as the lead coach for Chances for Children, than I was motivated about my own accomplishments. For the past year, my passion has not in my own personal accomplishment, but in the accomplishment of the people I coached and the kids we helped.  So, for the past year, I ran for fun and continued to coach Team Chances and all the kids that we support. I loved every minute of it! Let me tell you it is an amazing feeling when someone comes up and tells you that your story inspired them to chase their dream and that they started running and are now leading a fitter, happier and healthier life! All year, in the back of my mind, I’ve been thinking that maybe if I could possibly qualify one more time qualify for the Olympic Trials it could be used as a tool to inspire others that they can do anything if they believe they can! If my effort inspires just one person…it is all worth it! After all, the one person I may inspire will inspire another, and then that person will inspire someone else – it will just keep going. Now, let’s get going. Keep Believing… Susan Loken

Leave a Reply

Categories

